Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Finally the sunshine is here! And I’m ready to welcome in the summer months with many long nights under the stars.

My wardrobe is not. I have shorts, singlets and skirts. I have ski coats, sweaters and slippers.  What I do not have, is anything in between.

In light of this I have knit a beautiful little shrug (bolero) to cover up when the sun goes down and the drinks start flowing.

If you like this post don’t forget to boost it on blog nation.org ——–>

Pin it.Like it.Tweet it! 😀

The Pattern

Anthropologie- Inspired Capelet by Julie Allen 

Above is the FREE pattern I used for this piece. I found a few areas difficult to read,however so I have posted the pattern with my notes added in below. You can use whichever you would like.

The Yarn

I have been joining the #stashbustarmy with this one, so I used a discontinued yarn, but would recommend Adriafil- Candy in Burgundy to achieve the same results. You will need just under two balls to make the size listed.

The shrug itself is beautifully soft & warm and took less than a day to make(estimated 6/7 hours).

Anthropologie- Inspired Capelet- by Julia Allen & Notations by Anna Lynch

Needles: 11 US (8.0mm) needles, or size needed to get gauge.

**I used 6.5mm to obtain my gauge.**

Gauge: 12 st and 16 rows over 4” in reverse stockinette stitch.

**Reverse stockinette is knit just as regular stockinette by alternating your purl and knit rows. Reverse stockinette simply means that your Right Side (RS) will be the purl side rather than the knit side which is more common.**

CO 49 st. This makes a S-M* with 16″ neckline.
*For exact sizing, measure around your neck at the collarbone, and multiply the gauge (per inch!) by that measurement. If that number is even, add one st to get your CO amount.

Knit in 1 x 1 rib for 2 inches to create neckline

** 8 rows on my piece**

Raglan Increases: You will need 4 stitch markers to separate the body into 5 sections:
left front, left sleeve, back, right sleeve, right front.
*If you’re following your own measurements, divide the total CO# by 6 to get the number of stitches for each of the front and sleeve sections (for example, in the sample pattern, I CO 49, so each front and sleeve section would have 8 st). Multiply that number by 2 to get the number of st for the back section. (I had 16). You may need to add or subtract one stitch to get the total to add up to the CO amount. Please note: This is the number of stitches in each section BEFORE
the yarn over increases. To get a total # of st AFTER increasing, add 1 to each front section, 2 to each sleeve, and 2 to the back (8 st total increased)

** Raglan is the lace effect that splits the sleeves from the body of the piece. When    you place your marker you want to make sure that you have one increase on either side of your marker so that your increases place evenly.**

Raglan Row 1 (RS): k2, p6, yo, pm, p1, yo, p7, yo, pm, p1, yo, p15, yo, pm, p1, yo,
p7, yo, pm, p1, yo, p6, k2 (57 st total, 8 have been increased)
Raglan Row 2 (and all WS rows): knit all stitches
Row 3 (and all RS rows): k2, *p to next marker, yo, sl marker, p1, yo* repeat from *
3 more times, p until last 2 st, k2
Continue raglan increases until sleeve **the area between marker 1 and marker 2** measures the circumference of your upper arm.

**I worked mine until it was around15 inches to give myself some wiggle room. It took 27 rows **

End with a WS row.
Split sleeves and body:
RS: k2, p to 1st marker, move all st from 1st to 2nd marker onto scrap yarn (right
sleeve). P to 3rd marker. Move all st from 3rd to 4th marker onto another piece of scrap **rather than using scrap I used two circular needles to hold my live stitches so that I could knit the final part of the sleeves in the round. This is just personal preference** yarn (left sleeve). P to last 2 st, k2.

WS: Knit all st
Continue in reverse stockinette stitch for 4 more rows (with k2 at each edge of the row)
Switch to 1 x 1 rib, for 5 rows. BO all st
Sleeves:
Pick up all st, one sleeve at a time from scrap yarn.
Work back and forth in 1 x 1 rib for 5 rows.
BO all st
Seam ribbing on sleeves
That’s it, you’re done! This is easy, I swear!
Finish with a pin at the neck, or sew a button on, whatever you want!

