Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It is complete. Two months, 1000 m of yarn, and very sore fingers!

But I am immensely happy with the result. I will be taking it out in the public eye tomorrow at the Function Junction Block Party, so please feel free to come and say hi and check out the work.

Copied below is more information about my work from the press release and some extra pictures for all you followers!.

HAND KNIT ART INSTALATION UNVIELED IN WHISTLER, BC

Tomorrow will be the unveiling of an exciting new art installation from creator Anna Lynch.

The “yarn mobile” as it has been affectionately coined by Lynch, will be shown in public tomorrow evening at the Function Junction Block Party, in Whistler BC.

The mobile art installation, is a depiction of Whistler’s ecosystem, hand knit on to a bicycle frame. But why a bicycle? Lynch says “There is no better way of depicting the beauty of this area, and the feeling of this town, than on something that residents here can really relate to. If you think of Whistler in the summertime you think bicycle. Whats more the art work itself shows the cycle of our ecosystem, and so I found it fitting to mirror this idea in the display”.

Every element of the piece was hand knit by Lynch, from left over yarn. “ I didn’t buy any new yarn to make this project. I simply used an array of left over strands from previous projects. Whatever the colour, or fibre, none of the yarn was ever chosen with this in mind. I worked with what I had”.

For those who are familiar with the trend of “yarn bombing”, knitting around a bicycle may not be a new concept. However, unlike any bicycle that has been detailed in this way previously, Lynch’s piece branches out from the frame.

When the idea came to me to make this depiction, I knew it could not be constrained by the frame of the bike. The nature, and the wilds of BC, its mountain range, wild flowers and relentless weather cycles, would not be given justice if made to fit the frame like a picture. I wanted the overwhelming impact and beauty of the nature here to really jump out”.

When asked how much planning went into the piece Lynch says “After the initial idea, there was actually very little forward planning. I knew I would make the river and the mountains, but that was it. I had not thought of how I would make these pieces and what would come next. As these pieces became complete the bicycle began to take shape organically”.

The piece took two months to come to fruition, and used approximately 1093yds/1000m of scrap yarn.

Whistler Ecosystem Cycle”, or “yarn mobile” as it has come to be known is for sale on Lynch’s website.

This piece is one of a kind. It was challenging and exciting to make, but will certainly be the only bicycle I create. I don’t know what my next project will be right now, but that’s what I love about creating art, you never know what form your next inspiration will take!”.

If you would like more information on this topic, or to schedule an interview with Anna Lynch, please email knittygrittywhistler@gmail.com.

